Profile picture

Stephen Chih-Yang Lu

David Packard Chair in Manufacturing and Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Science


  • 1982, Master's Degree, Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie-Mellon University
  • 1978, Bachelor's Degree, Mechanical Engineering, National Taiwan University
  • Doctoral Degree, Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie-Mellon University


Professor Stephen Lu, David Packard Chair in Manufacturing at the University of Southern California, is a researcher, teacher, and education entrepreneur. He has excelled in the academic and business worlds, holding a permanent endowed professorship at a leading research university and serving advisory roles at multiple international organizations. Dr. Lu's academic interests and technical expertise are in design thinking, collaborative engineering, technological innovation, and education reform. At USC, he created the Product Development Engineering (PDE) master's degree and the Viterbi iPodia (ViP) global education program. In 2012, he established the iPodia Alliance - a global consortium among leading universities to promote the "classrooms-without-borders" paradigm.

Professor Lu has published over 300 technical publications; delivered numerous keynote speeches at domestic/global conferences; served on high-quality journals' editorial boards, such as Chief Editor of the International Journal of Collaborative Engineering. He was a visiting professor at MIT, Technical University, Berlin, Shanghai Jiao-tong University, Korea Advance Institute of Science and Technology, and RWTH Aachen University. Dr. Lu was the Chairman of the Technical Advisory Committee of the SAVE/JAST program, which designed and developed the next-generation fighter aircraft for the U.S. military. He is an elected senior Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the International Academy of Production Engineering (CIRP). He has chaired CIRP's Design Scientific and Technical Committee and the CIRP-ECN Working Group. He has received numerous prestigious awards for his technical contributions, including honorary professorships from six foreign universities and two Presidential recognitions in the USA and Germany.

Research Summary

(1) system design thinking, (2) collaborative engineering, (3) global innovation, (4) design theory and methodology, (5) complexity in design of technical systems, (6) new product development


  • 2012 ASME ASME Fellow
  • 2010 Peking University, Beijing, China Senior Advisor to the President
  • 2009 Chinese Government 1000 Talent Initiative (千人计划)
  • 2008 Peking University, Beijing, China Founding Dean, Peking University Innovation Education and Research (PIER) Institute
  • 2007 Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China University Distinguished Professor
  • 2005 Shanghai Jiao-Tong University, Shanghai, China Advisory Professor
  • 2003 The International Academy for Production Engineering (CIRP) Elected Full Fellow
  • 2003 The Ministry of Education, People's Republic of China YangTze Distinguished Scholarship Award
  • 2001 the Shanghai Municipal City Government, Shanghai, People’s Republic of China International Technology Contribution Award
  • 1999 Chinese Society of Mechanical Engineers (CSME) Technical Achievements Award in Engineering Design Research
  • 1998 Chongqing University, Chongqing, China Honorary Professor
  • 1998 Kung-Xi University, Kung Xi, China Honorary Professor
  • 1997 Xi’an Jiao-Tong University, Xi’an, China Honorary Professor
  • 1995 U.S. Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratories Distinguished Civilian Service Award
  • 1995 University of Southern California David Packard Chair in Manufacturing Engineering
  • 1995 Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China Honorary Professor
  • 1993 Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, Germany Humboldt Award for Senior U.S. Scientist
  • 1992 The Fulbright Commission Fulbright Scholarship (Senior Research Professor Category)
  • 1990 Chinese Institute of Engineers, Republic of China (Taiwan) Certificate of Appreciation
  • 1990 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senior Xerox Award for Faculty Research
  • 1990 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University Scholar Award
  • 1989 Production Engineering, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Award of Appreciation
  • 1988 Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award
  • 1987 National Science Foundation (NSF) USA Presidential Young Investigator Award
  • 1985 American Society of Engineering Educators (ASEE) Young Engineering Educator Award
  • Dir-Acad Prog, Director of Master of Science in Product Development Engineering (MSPDE) Program
  • Director, iPodia
  • Daniel J Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
  • Thomas Lord Department of Computer Science
  • DRB 262
  • Corwin D. Denney Research Center
  • 1042 Downey Way, Los Angeles, CA 90089
  • USC Mail Code: 1111
Contact Information
  • (213) 740-9616