2011 Eberhardt Rechtin Lecture

Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

"A System of Healthcare for the USA"

Dr. Denis Cortese

Arizona State University and Mayo Clinic


Dr. Cortese describes a view of health care in terms of three mega-domains: the knowledge domain – the world of medical research, where new ideas inventions and medical approaches are developed, such as  the concept of individualized medicine based on our unique genetic blueprint; the care delivery domain - the world of physicians and hospitals, where patients are treated; and the payer domain – the world of insurance, governments and others that pay for the delivery of health care. Each of these domains is huge in its own right, their flawed interactions with each other is one of the main reasons why our health care system is so dysfunctional.


Dr. Denis Cortese assumed academic positions as a Foundation Professor in January 2010 at Arizona State University (ASU) in the W.P. Carey School of Business and the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering. He is also the director of ASU's Health Care Delivery and Policy Program. He currently serves on the board for Pinnacle West, RAND Health, and the National Coalition for Healthcare Information (NCHI). In addition he is chair of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Roundtable on Value and Science Driven Healthcare and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering's Division of Engineering and Physical Sciences. Dr. Cortese is Emeritus President and Chief Executive Officer of Mayo Clinic. His memberships include: The IOM, the National Academy of Sciences (US) and chair of the Roundtable on Evidence Based Medicine; Healthcare Leadership Council, chair for 2007-2009; Harvard/Kennedy Healthcare Policy Group; Academia Nacional de Medicina (Mexico); and Division on Engineering and Physical Science (DEPS), National Research Council. Some of Dr. Cortese's honors and awards include, National Healthcare Leadership Award - National Center for Healthcare (2009); Leo Black Award for Excellence in Healthcare Information Technology - Mayo Clinic (2009); Commencement address - Mayo Clinic College of Medicine (2009); Commencement address - Luther College (2009); Honorary Doctor of Science Degree - Luther College (2009); Medal of Merit - American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (2008); Ellis Island Medal of Honor (2007); Top 50 Physician Executives in Healthcare (2006-2008); and Honorary Fellow - Royal College of Physicians (2005).

Published on March 27th, 2017

Last updated on December 16th, 2019